Buried Treasure

I live in the midst of an exciting treasure hunt. It involves following thin threads and hidden clues left by Someone who adores partnering with me in the exploration. There are hints left in plain sight (sometimes the most difficult to recognize) and others that require strategic, intentional unraveling.

Every once in a while, there is a map to follow, but that is rare these days. Usually, the trek involves a reliable compass and a general sense of which direction to start walking in. 

It is the delightful adventure of discovering my true Kingdom Identity. Graham initiated the journey for me several years ago with his teaching on “Identity and Inheritance.” He’s continued to fuel it with “Maintaining Your Inner Compass” and “Living in Your Truest Identity.” I’ve come to love the treasure hunt to discover who God says I am.

Clues to my identity have been buried in movies and in heroes from history. I’ve found them tucked inside Inheritance Words from scripture that keep unfolding layer after layer. Once, a nugget was written on a gold rush tombstone and another was hidden on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.

They were all statements or images that grabbed my attention and my Helper excitedly called out: “Dig here! There’s something more to discover about who I created you to be.” So I stopped and began to plow up the ground with questions, ponderings and wonderings. I wrote down the clues, dug out old journals and began a grand conversation with the One who knows where all the wealth is buried.

The treasure of who I really am has often been woven into the hearts of my friends, who frequently have a more divine perspective on my life that I do. No one should ever go exploring for their identity by themselves. What fun is any adventure without others to share it with? And to know there are people who will form a search party, if you get lost along the way?  Priceless.

There have been loads of false leads. Cold trails left by old experiences that weren’t pleasant or from people who made declarations that weren’t the truth. They might have been true of my behavior at the time, but they weren’t the truth about who I really was. Those are tricky to detect because there seems to be a lot of confirming evidence in the landscape.

That’s when it pays to have that compass solidly set to True North.

It is a joyful adventure that feels like it’s still just beginning…. which is good.

I like the hunt.

Allison

One thought on “Buried Treasure

  1. I am very happy to see another treasure hunter! The more I discover of His promises, the more my eyes are opened to who I really am. What a joy it is to feed on Jesus!
    And yes, every day, more and more, I enjoy the hunt! Praise God, You are so good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

