Developing a Lifestyle of Favor

favor

Sometimes God doesn’t deliver us from situations, He delivers us in them. That’s favor. Our biggest problem with favor is that we don’t see it the way the Father wants to release it. We want favor only as an impartation or an event. Lay hands on me, do something that means I don’t have to do anything but I get everything anyway. We treat favor as a one off experience that gives us something. So it becomes a provision that we don’t have to do anything for, except receive, but you have to work at favor, like you have to labor to enter into rest.

You have to work at becoming peaceful. You have to work at pushing away everything that causes dis-peace: no to anxiety, no to worry, no to being fearful. No, I’m not having that. No, I’m not doing that. No, I’m not doing that. Sometimes what’s left is peace. Other times you get peace and you fight in a different way. Sometimes you get peace and you fight using it. Other times you get peace by saying no to everything and peace is what remains but you have to fight for stuff. We have to contend for stuff and favor isn’t anything different. In God’s heart favor is not a one off experience. It’s not an event. It’s a lifestyle.

There is an ever-expanding favor that upgrades our relationship with the Godhead and it upgrades our status in the kingdom. Favor is like the nature of God. Whatever God is, He is relentlessly. So He is relentlessly kind. I love putting those two words together. The Lord said to me 25 years ago, “Son, I’m going to teach you about my kindness.” I had no idea what a wonderful journey I was about to embark on. I can’t remember a day in that 25 years when God has not said something or done something that doesn’t expose His kindness to me.

God is relentless about things, so His relentlessness teaches us persistence. He is so relentless about everything. He never stops. Day in, day out, week in, week out, month in, month out, year in, year out He never stops and He’s unchanging. He has been relentlessly kind to me for over 25 years. That relentless kindness has made me persistent towards Him; I know, that I know, that I know, that I know, that I know.

There comes a point, beloved, when you have to pass from faith into knowledge. Faith is an introduction to something. Knowledge is an experience of what God has introduced you to. I no longer believe that God is kind, I know that God is kind. I don’t have to exercise faith over it. Do you understand what I’m saying? I have passed from faith into knowledge. Why? Because I have this endless experience of who God is. I jolly-well-know that God is kind. I don’t even think about it anymore. I expect it. I live in that continuous sense of expectancy. I expect God to be kind. I expect this situation to work out for good because I’m loving God in it and I’m finding out what the purpose of God is and I’m actually committing to it.

Romans 8:28 is not some kind of weird form of Christian fatalism. “God works everything out for good.” You see people sitting around not doing anything, “Oh well, God will work it out for good.” No, He won’t. This is not some sort of fatalistic truth. There are two conditions in Romans 8:28, “Everything works together for good to those who…” two things. One, who love God in the situation you’re in. When you love God, you discover God. Secondly, to those who are called according to His purpose in the circumstances that you’re in. That’s why we never ask the why question because it never gets answered on Earth. It’s the wrong question. Why has this happened, why me, why now? The why question never gets answered. It’s an invalid question that makes you an invalid. It’s a victim question.

The two best questions you can ask are found on the day of Pentecost. What does this mean and what must I do? Both of those questions take you into partnership; the why questions takes you away from partnership. In fact, the why question will guarantee some unnecessary suffering. Never ask why. “What does this mean, papa? What are you doing? What are you up to? I know you; you’re up to something. What does this mean? Help me understand what it means and then help me understand what I need to do to partner with you. What does it mean, what must I do?”

If you want to develop favor as a way of life, you’ve got to learn the art of walking out and working out the truth by the power of the Holy Spirit.

–An excerpt from The Favor Series


 

The Favor Series is available for purchase at Brilliant Book House, and for the month of December you can purchase one copy and a gift-wrapped copy to give away, all at a discounted price! Be sure to check out The Favor Series today!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Developing a Lifestyle of Favor

  1. “Lay hands on me, do something that means I don’t have to do anything but I get everything anyway.”

    Do you? What happens with Impartation or Laying on of Hands is a Real Pneumatological Energetic Encounter and Transfer – BUT – what is not imparted are all your personal experiences and personal spiritual formation through Living the Life and gaining the victories. What is imparted and transferred is an element or measure of similar Ministry and Gifting according to energetic economy of the Holy Spirit – but with that comes the call to Live [out] the Life and it means you will stop at every station on the way to Calvary…including the yard of the Praetorium – where your strength will be tested in every degree. Graham Cooke stated he could no longer lays hands on people to receive a similar prophetic ministry because the shock of that type of impartation might kill them…as he assumed it would mean an energetic transfer of all his personal experiences, struggles and victories – but what if it is more an energetic transfer of potentials……You will definitely get everything but not quite in the way you intended. Most people pressing for a laying on of hands without fully understanding what they will be called to carry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

