Question of the Month with Graham Cooke

questionofthemonth.jpg

The deepest revelation I’ve had about the nature of God that really changed my whole approach to walking with God was the one where He began to talk to me about His kindness. He just made the statement, “Graham, I am going to teach you about the lovingkindness of the Lord. I am going to address some things in your life in a really joyful way. But I want to show you who I want to be for you.” So He began to talk to me about kindness.

I grew up with a dad who did the best he could, but he wasn’t particularly kind. In turn I grew up with a kind of rough idea of God in terms of the roughness of a father, the discipline of a father, and so on and so forth. Those are good things in and of themselves, but they don’t really make you want to hang around and have a conversation.

So the Lord said to me, “I am going to teach you about the relentless kindness of God.” This was probably 20 years ago and all I can say is that there hasn’t been a single day in 20 years that God hasn’t done or said something kind to me. And now I’m at a place where I have an absolute expectation of the kindness of God. I look for it, I listen for it, and in 20 years, I’ve always heard it. Whatever God is, He is relentlessly.

The kindness of God and the way that it came changed my own personality. It changed the way I thought, and the way I spoke, and the way I addressed people and issues. I wanted to be kind like God. That’s what happens when God shows you His nature. There’s a metamorphoses in the process of how He addresses Himself  to you that gradually changes your own personality. You find yourself wanting to be kind and then learning how to be kind.

Kindness opened up a whole new territory into understanding who God is: how He thinks, how He perceives, how He likes to talk, how He likes to do things. God loves to root everything He is in love, grace, and kindness so that we can learn the consistency of His affection toward us.

I learned the affection of God through His kindness. Listening to the voice of God and smiling in my own heart because it’s not just what God says, but how He says it. That’s affected so many things in terms of my prophesying, in my praying, in my speaking, how I declare things, how I talk to people. All of that has been adjusted because my heart has been wonderfully changed.

One thought on “Question of the Month with Graham Cooke

Leave a Reply

