Question of the Month: I have a promise over my life but God isn’t doing anything? Why not?

question-of-the-month_july

I have a promise over my life but God isn’t doing anything. Why not?

God gives us faith so we can see what He sees. It is invisible to us, but His permission is our confession. There are three principles of faith, then. Firstly, it must be something that is unseen, then I must believe that it is true for me, and finally I must walk towards it. 

For example, God began a long time ago about setting up my own publishing house, Brilliant Book House. My friends will tell you that I had been talking about it probably for a couple of years, talking and praying, and nothing happening. Just waiting, waiting for God to do something. One day, in irritation, I said to the Lord, “So when are You going to start Brilliant Book House?”

Quick as a flash He just said, “When you believe.”

So I am thinking, “Okay, what does that mean?”

“Well, we could have started this a year ago, but you are a good talker, and that is all you are doing. I am waiting for you. When are you going to believe?”

“Well, I thought I was believing!”

“Yeah, but you are not doing anything about what you believe. Tell me what action you have taken. You have talked about it a lot. You bent my ears for the last twelve months at least, but you haven’t done anything. So when are you going to do something?”

“Well, what do You want me to do?”

“Well, I want you to confess that you are a publisher for a start. I want you to set things in motion. What is it that you are lacking? What is it, Graham, that is stopping you from moving out?”

“Just money.”

“Okay, well if I gave you the money today, what would you do?”

“Well, I would take all the steps! You know, I would get the business registered. I would get a trademark. I would do all that, kind of get going with everything.”

“Well, get going with everything and I will give you the money!”

If you do before you get it what you would do if you had it, you will be sure to get it.

“I am not giving it to you where you stand! Faith is an action. You need to walk out to where I am. I am all in favor of you publishing, love to be a partner with you, but I am not going to be a silent partner, and you are not going to be a stupid one! So, I am out here, why don’t you come out to meet Me?”

So in the end, that is what I began to do.

The thing is so many times we think that believing is faith. Believing is where we actually settle ourselves before God, “I believe that what You told me is true. I believe in Your nature. I believe You are faithful,” and then we stand here confessing what we believe is going to get us someplace. But that is just first base! That is just to get us settled and in sync with who God is.

Then we have to take an action that is consistent with that belief. So you have to then begin to see, “Okay, I am a publisher,” so all the way I am driving to Sacramento to see this lawyer, I am looking in the mirror and I am saying to myself, “You are a publisher! You don’t look like a publisher, but you are one! You are a publisher. Shut up, Graham, you are a publisher! Go in there and act like you know what you are doing. Go in there and act like a publisher. I don’t know how publishers act! Well, neither does she, probably. So just go out there…” And so I did.

If you do before you get it what you would do if you had it, you will be sure to get it.

Three principles of faith: it must be something that is unseen, I must believe that it is true for me, and I must walk towards it.


For more resources regarding faith and the promises of God, The Faith Series CD set by Graham Cooke is great place to start. You can order the CDs or download the MP3s all month at Brilliant Book House for a discounted price here.

2 thoughts on “Question of the Month: I have a promise over my life but God isn’t doing anything? Why not?

  1. Thank you Graham for the way you explain stuff.I can identify and that is why I have learnt soo much from you.I get it you just don’t have to have faith(which is what we are taught) but you have to act it out and become it.By George she has got it.Blessings.

    Like

  2. Hey guys faith without works is dead and is the reason why so many of the ideas God gives us do not come to fruition. I get it! But I too am a writer/publisher and a business owner [a business that’s non-profit and advocates for those without a voice]! Thank you Jesus and Graham.

    Like

Leave a Reply

